Garena Free Fire announces nation-wide Free Fire City Open tournament with a cash prize of Rs 60 lakhs


The first Garena Free Fire tournament called Free Fire City Open has just been announced. The tournament will see players, now known as Survivors, battle it out for a chance to represent their city/state. The first-of-its-kind national tournament will feature the top 12 Free Fire teams from across the nation take each other on for a prize pool of INR 60 lakh. These 12 teams will consist of the 10 top teams from 8 states, which have been named after their major city – Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Kolkata, Chennai, Lucknow, and Visakhapatnam– and two “wildcard” entries who hail from outside of these 8 regions. ‘Survivors’ can sign up in-game through the Free Fire Cup (FFC) mode from today, 26 April until match day on 30 April.

Garena Free Fire City Open tournament announced

With the ban on PUBG Mobile still hanging over the heads of Indians, Garena Free Fire has taken over the top spot as one of the biggest mobile games in the country. Free Fire has continuously pushed out content for its fans. For the Free Fire City Open, the qualifying teams include 8 teams, the winners from each of the participating cities that will be chosen basis their individual city finals; 2 teams selected from the play-ins between the teams ranked #2 to #4 from each of the 8 city finals; and 2 “wildcard” entries which will be the best teams chosen from the rest of India, outside of the 8 participating cities. 

The tournament will begin with the FFC mode on 30 April, followed by the city finals starting in June. Stay tuned to for more news on Garena Free Fire. In the meantime, here’s everything you need to know about the Garena Free Fire OB26 Update.