India’s tour of Sri Lanka in July to comprise three ODIs, three T20Is


Those part of England tour unlikely to feature, but expect the likes of Dhawan, Hardik and Bhuvneshwar

India are set to tour Sri Lanka in July for a white-ball series comprising three ODIs and three T20s. As per SLC’s proposed itinerary to the BCCI, accessed bt ESPNcricinfo, the series will commence with the ODIs on July 13, 16, 19 followed by T20 segment on July 22, 24, 27. The venues are yet to be finalised.

It is understood that none of the India’s white-ball players who are part of the travelling group for the World Test Championship final and the England Test series will be part of the Sri Lanka series.

According to the preliminary itinerary, India’s white-ball squad would arrive in Sri Lanka on July 5 and depart on July 28. Upon arrival, the Indian squad will have to serve out a week-long quarantine which will be split into two sets: first one comprising three days of hard quarantine inside their rooms followed by four days where the squad can train but with their movement strictly restricted to just the hotel and the ground.

Keeping in mind the safety of the bio-secure bubble, crowds are unlikely for the series, which is India’s first in Sri Lanka since the Nidahas Trophy in March 2018.

For Sri Lanka, India’s visit will be their first at home upon returning from England, where they are scheduled to play a white-ball series comprising three T20s and three ODIs between June 23 and July 4.

No Kohli, Rohit, Pant but expect Dhawan, Hardik, Bhuvneshwar

With Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, KL Rahul and few others likely to miss out because they will be in preparation for the England Tests, the selectors are likely to pick from an abundant IPL talent pool that has been honed through the India A programmes under Rahul Dravid, the NCA director.

Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sanju Samson, Prithvi Shaw, Deepak Chahar, Rahul Chahar, Jaydev Unadkat, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy and Rahul Tewatia are some of the players who will be in the mix.

Nagraj Gollapudi is news editor at ESPNcricinfo