P Rajavelu of AINRC Wins


22. Nettapakkam (नेत्तपक्कम), is an Assembly/Vidhan Sabha seat in Pondicherry region and Pondicherry district of Puducherry. It shares a border with Tamil Nadu (Villupuram, Cuddalore Districts). Nettapakkam is part of 1. Puducherry Lok Sabha/Parliamentary constituency. This seat can be categoried as: a constituency.

Of the 822 constituencies that went to the polls 302 constituencies, including this, have a record of over 80% turnout in the last three consecutive Assembly elections. Of these 302 high-turnout seats 36 are in Assam, 6 in Kerala, 38 in Tamil Nadu, 203 in West Bengal and 19 in Puducherry.

Demographic profile:

This Scheduled Caste Assembly constituency has an estimated Scheduled Caste population of 36.32%. The estimated literacy level of the district in which this constituency falls in is 85.44%.

In the 2021 elections, there were a total of 32,334 eligible electors, of which 14,844 were male, 17,486 female and 4 registered voters were of the third gender.

The electorate gender ratio in Nettapakkam in 2021 is 1178.

In the 2016 polls, there were a total of 30,665 eligible electors, of which 14,223 were male, 16,441 female and 1 voters of the third gender.

In the 2011 Puducherry Assembly elections, there were a total of 27,274 eligible electors, of which 12,915 were male, 14,359 female and voters of the third gender.

The number of service voters in Nettapakkam in 2016 was 9. In 2011, there were 8.

Past winners/MLAs:

In the 2016 Puducherry Assembly elections, Vizeaveny, V. of INC won in this seat by defeating Rajavelu, P. of AINRC by a margin of 1,468 votes which was 5.41% of the total votes polled in the constituency. INC had a vote share of 38.96% in 2016 in the seat.

In 2011, L. Periyasamy of AIADMK won in this seat defeating S. Muthukumarasamy of INC by a margin of 5,467 votes which was 22.26% of the total votes polled in the constituency. AIADMK had a vote share of 59.8% in 2011 in the seat.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, INC got the most votes in 22. Nettapakkam Assembly segment of Puducherry Lok Sabha constituency. ANRC won the Puducherry Parliament seat.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, AINRC got the most votes this Assembly segment and INC won the Puducherry Parliament seat.

Number of contestants:

A total of 10 candidates contested in the 2021 elections. In 2016 there were 12 contestants and there were 7 candidates fighting for this seat in the 2011 Assembly polls.

Candidates 2021:

The candidates contesting in the 2021 Puducherry Assembly elections from Nettapakkam are: M Paranthaman (BSP), P Rajavelu (AINRC), V Vizeaveny (INC), T Kalyanasundaram (JDU), D Govury (NTK), M Selvam (AMMK), B Gnanaoly (MNM), A Velu (IJK), C Krishnagopal (IND), S Thirunavukkarasu (IND)

Voter turnout:

In the 2021 Puducherry Assembly elections, the voter turnout was calculated at 85.77%. In 2016, this seat registered a turnout of 88.61%, while it was 90.16% in 2011.

Poll dates:

The seat went to the polls in Phase 1 of the Puducherry Assembly elections 2021 on Tuesday, April 6, 2021. Counting of votes are being held on Sunday, May 2, 2021.

Number of polling stations:

In the 2021 elections there were a total of polling stations in 22. Nettapakkam constituency. The corresponding figure in the 2016 elections was 31. In 2011 there were 30 polling stations.


22. Nettapakkam constituency comprises of the following areas of Pondicherry district of Puducherry: Nettapakkam Commune Panchayat (Part)- Madukkarai, Kariamanickam, Eripakkam, Pandasozhanur and Nettapakkam, Bahour Commune Panchayat (Part)- Panayadikuppam, Karaiyambuthur and Manamedu. It shares an inter-state border with Pondicherry.

The total area covered by Nettapakkam is 26 square kilometres.

Map location:

The geographic coordinates of Nettapakkam is: 11°52’09.1″N 79°37’53.0″E.

Refer to the live updating results tables on this page for the latest Nettapakkam results.

Click here for the latest seat-by-seat latest live results of Puducherry Assembly elections 2021.

Constituency-Wise Election Results LIVE: West Bengal | Tamil Nadu | Kerala | Assam | Puducherry

LIVE Blogs: West Bengal | Tamil Nadu | Kerala | Assam