Recent Match Report – Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka 2nd ODI 2021


Mosaddek Hossain, who last played an ODI in July 2019, replaces Mohammad Mithun

Bangladesh captain Tamim Iqbal has chosen to bat first after winning the toss in the second ODI in Dhaka. The home side have made two changes, bringing in Shoriful Islam and Mosaddek Hossain in place of Taskin Ahmed and Mohammad Mithun respectively.

Shoriful is making his ODI debut, having already made his T20I and Test debuts in the last two months. Mosaddek returns to the side after nearly two years, having last played against Sri Lanka in July 2019. Both Taskin and Mithun have done well recently, but had off-days in the first game of the series.

With both Shoriful and Mustafizur Rahman in their attack, Bangladesh are playing two left-arm seamers in an ODI for the first time since December 1990, when Gholam Nousher and Jahangir Alam Talukdar featured against India.

Sri Lanka, meanwhile, have kept the same XI that played the first ODI.

Rain is forecast in the evening, with a cyclone brewing over the Bay of Bengal over the last few days.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal (capt), 2 Liton Das, 3 Shakib Al Hasan, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Mosaddek Hossain, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Afif Hossain, 8 Mohammad Saifuddin, 9 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 10 Shoriful Islam, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Sri Lanka: 1 Danushka Gunathilaka, 2 Kusal Perera (capt & wk), 3 Pathum Nissanka, 4 Kusal Mendis, 5 Dhananjaya de Silva, 6 Ashen Bandara, 7 Dasun Shanaka, 8 Wanindu Hasaranga, 9 Isuru Udana, 10 Lakshan Sandakan, 11 Dushmantha Chameera

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84