Recent Match Report – KKR vs Royals 18th Match 2021


KKR replace Kamlesh Nagarkoti with Shivam Mavi

Rajasthan Royals chose to bowl vs Kolkata Knight Riders

“Trust the players” seems to be Sanju Samson’s mantra even as he battles to get his team off the bottom of the IPL table. For this game, where he won the toss and chose to bowl, he placed his faith in Jaydev Unadkat’s experience and Yashasvi Jaiswal’s batting talent. They came into a Rajasthan Royals side that hopes to secure its second win in five matches.

The Kolkata Knight Riders are only marginally better off – in seventh place thanks to net run-rate. But their first XI does give the impression that it has more options. The fight they showed against the Chennai Super Kings, almost chasing down 221 even after being 31 for 5 in the powerplay, suggests a change of fortune may not be far off. Eoin Morgan appeared to have the same notion as he made one change, replacing Kamlesh Nagarkoti with Shivam Mavi.

Kolkata Knight Riders: 1 Nitish Rana, 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Rahul Tripathi, 4 Eoin Morgan (capt), 5 Dinesh Karthik (wk), 6 Sunil Narine, 7 Andre Russell, 8 Pat Cummins, 9 Varun Chakravarthy, 10 Shivam Mavi, 11 Prasidh Krishna

Rajasthan Royals: 1 Jos Buttler, 2 Yashasvi Jaiswal, 3 Sanju Samson (capt&wk), 4 David Miller, 5 Shivam Dube, 6 Riyan Parag, 7 Rahul Tewatia, 8 Chris Morris, 9 Jaydev Unadkat, 10 Chetan Sakariya, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Alagappan Muthu is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo