Recent Match Report – West Indies vs South Africa 1st Test 2021


Teenager Jayden Seales, who has only one first-class match to his name, got his first Test cap for West Indies

West Indies chose to bat vs South Africa

South Africa’s four-pace-and-solo-spin attack will get first use of the St Lucia surface after Kraigg Brathwaite decided to bat first in the two teams’ first meeting in the Caribbean for 11 years. South Africa last toured West Indies in 2010 and none of the current squad were part of that group of players. That means all XI visitors will be making their first Test appearance on the islands.
It’s also a first for Dean Elgar, who takes charge of South Africa in whites, after being appointed captain in the winter break. Elgar has led South Africa once before, when Faf du Plessis was on paternity leave, at Lord’s in 2017. du Plessis is also no longer part of the team and retired earlier this year, making way for Keegan Petersen, a top-order batter from Durban via Bloemfontein and Paarl. Petersen’s first cap was planned ahead of the series but South Africa also had to make a last-minute adjustment to their XI after vice-captain Temba Bavuma was ruled out of the match with a hip injury. Kyle Verreynne was given an opportunity in his place.
West Indies also have a newcomer in their team. Teenager Jayden Seales, who has only one first-class match to his name, has been included in an attack that contains Kemar Roach and Jason Holder but not Alzarri Joseph. West Indies opted for two spinners in Roston Chase and Rakheem Cornwall. In the line-up, Shai Hope has been recalled after last playing in July last year against England and will open the batting with his captain Brathwaite. That left no space for Kieran Powell, who was also back in the squad after a period of time on the sidelines.

West Indies: 1 Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), 2 Shai Hope, 3 Nkrumah Bonner, 4 Kyle Mayers, 5 Jermanine Blackwood, 6 Joshua da Silva (wk), 7 Jason Holder, 8 Roston Chase, 9 Rakheem Cornwall, 10 Kemar Roach, 11 Jayden Seales

South Africa: 1 Dean Elgar (capt), 2 Aiden Markram, 3 Keegan Petersen, 4 Rassie van der Dussen, 5 Kyle Verreynne, 6 Quinton de Kock (wk), 7 Wiaan Mulder, 8 Keshav Maharaj 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Anrich Nortje, 11 Lungi Ngidi

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent